discovering and sharing the music that moves us

Godsmack Releases Epic Eighth Studio Album ‘Lighting Up The Sky’

The wait is finally over for hard rock fans as Godsmack releases their eighth studio album Lighting Up The Sky. This multi-platinum Grammy-nominated band has made a powerful impact with their previously released tracks, “You and I” and “Surrender,” which hit the #1 spot on the charts for four consecutive weeks.

Lighting Up The Sky

Sully Erna, the band’s vocalist, and guitarist co-produced the album with Andrew “Mudrock” Murdock. He’s known for his previous work with bands like Avenged Sevenfold and Alice Cooper. “Lighting Up The Sky” is an epic musical journey that showcases the band’s prowess in storytelling. According to Erna, the album is a narrative about one man’s journey. The music symbolizes the ups and downs of relationships, the polarized political climate, and the state of the world.

Music Video Debut

In addition to the album release, the band also shares the music video for “Soul On Fire.” Erna directed the video himself and was filmed at Studio Lab in Derry, NH. The music video is an artistic representation of the album’s central theme with Erna’s Erna’s creative prowess on display.

To celebrate the album release, Godsmack will embark on a headlining amphitheater tour this spring. I Prevail will open most shows on their upcoming run. The band will also appear at major festivals like Welcome to Rockville and Sonic Temple.

Godsmack’s Success

Godsmack has been touring behind the success of their material for more than two decades. They’ve had an astounding 11 #1 singles and 20 hit the top 10. The band has also been nominated for four Grammy awards and won the Billboard Music Award’s Rock Artist of the Year in 2001. Godsmack has firmly established its place in the pantheon of rock music.

The band comprises Sully Erna (vocals, guitar), Tony Rombola (guitar), Robbie Merrill (bass), and Shannon Larkin (drums). The release of “Lighting Up The Sky” is a fitting tribute to their remarkable career, as it explores the idea of legacy and what we leave behind. For fans of Godsmack, this album is a must-listen, and it is sure to rock the music world for years to come. Let us know your thoughts in the comments section below.

For tour information and to purchase tickets visit their official website. For additional updates connect on Instagram and Twitter.

Tracklist: Lighting Up The Sky

  1. You And I
  2. Red White & Blue
  3. Surrender
  4. What About Me
  5. Truth
  6. Hell’s Not Dead
  7. Soul On Fire
  8. Let’s Go!
  9. Best Of Times
  10. Growing Old
  11. Lighting Up The Sky

Are you enjoying MendoWerks Magazine? Receive updates each week directly in your inbox. Sign up for the newsletter here.

About Author