discovering and sharing the music that moves us

Cowboy Junkies Prep New Album “Songs of the Recollection”

Cowboy Junkies are pulling out all the stops for their new album. They’re reinterpreting classics from artists like Neil Young, The Cure, David Bowie, and others for “Songs of the Recollection”. The album is due March 25th and features songs that inspired its members at different points in their lives.

The band, formed in the mid-80s is still together with the original lineup intact (which seems to be a rarity these days). It’s a family affair with siblings Michael Timmins on guitar, Margo Timmins on vocals, and Peter Timmins on drums. A lifelong friend of Michael, Alan Anton rounds out the lineup playing bass. Worth mentioning is the fact that they have welcomed a number of guest musicians along the way including multi-instrumentalist Jeff Bird who has played on all albums but the first.

Cowboy Junkies made a name for themselves based on their alt-country and folk-rock original music. However, they are also known for the tastefully chosen cover songs they weave into their sets. As far as the inspiration behind the project, Michael had this to say.

Finding Inspiration

Long before we were musicians, we were music fans. We didn’t grow up sitting around the kitchen table playing instruments and harmonizing. We grew up sitting around the record player listening to each other’s record collections and having our minds blown. This was the passion that we shared.

Michael Timmins

While four of the nine tracks on the album have been released previously, it’s the newer releases that steal the show. The opening track “Five Years” by David Bowie stays faithful to the Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders From Mars original. Other highlights include “No Expectations” from the Rolling Stones, Margo Timmins understated vocals, and quality slide guitar work is worth keeping an ear out for. They’ve also tackled a cover of one of Bob Dylan’s more recent songs “I’ve Made Up My Mind (To Give Myself to You). Instead of going for a song from earlier in his career, the original appears on Dylan’s 2020 release Rough and Rowdy Ways.

Songs of the Recollection Tracklist:

  1. Five Years – David Bowie
  2. Ooh Las Vegas * – Gram Parsons
  3. No Expectations – Mick Jagger and Keith Richards
  4. Don’t Let It Bring You Down – Neil Young
  5. Love In Mind – Neil Young
  6. The Way I Feel * – Gordon Lightfoot
  7. I’ve Made Up My Mind To Give Myself To You – Bob Dylan
  8. Marathon * – Vic Chesnutt
  9. Seventeen Seconds * – The Cure
    *previously commercially released

For updates pertaining to Cowboy Junkies’ new album and more info on tour dates, visit their website. Or, follow along on Instagram and Twitter.

MendoWerks would love to hear from you! Submit your music now for a review.

About Author