discovering and sharing the music that moves us

Blues Legend John Mayall Plots New Album With Star-Studded Cast

The legendary John Mayall delivers a funky soulful affair with a star-studded group of musicians in tow on his new album set for release on Forty Below Records. The Sun Is Shining Down will be available to the general public on January 28th.

Mayall’s career has spanned more than five decades. His band, The Bluesbreakers influenced a generation of musicians and his musical rolodex includes collaborations with Eric Clapton, members of Fleetwood Mac & the Rolling Stones. While he retired the Bluesbreakers moniker in 2008, he continues to travel his musical path.

This will be Mayall’s fifth album with Forty Below and 36th studio effort. Just part of a prolific career that also includes 34 live albums, 24 compilations albums, and 4 EP’s (for good measure).

Featuring Special Guests

Guests on the new album include Mike Campbell from The Heartbreakers, rising roots rocker Marcus King, and Americana icon Buddy Miller alongside Mayall’s longtime rhythm section of Greg Rzab on bass, drummer Jay Davenport and the multi-talented Carolyn Wonderland on guitar.

The Sun Is Shining Down was recorded at Strawhorse Studios as well as at Robby Krieger of The Doors Horse Latitudes studio with the Grammy-nominated Eric Corne.

Check out the new single from John Mayall below featuring Campbell called, “Chills and Thrills”. For more updates from John Mayall, you can visit his website or follow along on Facebook.


  1. “Hungry And Ready” Melvin Taylor
  2. “Can’t Take No More” Marcus King
  3. “I’m As Good As Gone” Buddy Miller
  4. “Got to Find a Better Way” Scarlet Rivera
  5. “Chills And Thrills” Mike Campbell
  6. “One Special Lady” Jake Shimabukuro
  7. “A Quitter Never Wins”
  8. “Deep Blues Sea” Scarlet Rivera
  9. “Driving Wheel” Melvin Taylor
  10. “The Sun Is Shining Down” Carolyn Wonderland

About Author